Site banner

Our People

We strongly believe in developing life long learners who contribute positively to society. As such our staff model this through ongoing professional development and commitment to the values and beliefs that society expects of us. Staff are heavily involved in the planning and implementing of programmes, the extra-curricular cultural and sporting groups and the establishment of strong community relationships with the families of our school.

Principal:

Mrs Angela Lowe
principal@newlandsint.school.nz

Deputy Principals: 

Mrs Lena Meinders
lena.m@newlandsint.school.nz

Mr Simon McAtamney
simon.m@newlandsint.school.nz

Office Staff:

Classroom Teachers:

Room 1: Brie Jessen-Vaughan
brie.jv@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 2: Anna Boyack
anna.b@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 3: Dianne McKenzie
dianne.m@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 4: Jared Simons
jared.s@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 5: Daniel Miller
dan.m@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 6: Michaela Maeda
michaela.m@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 7: Nima Pemerika
nima.p@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 8: Rhiannon Cameron
rhiannon.c@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 9: Robert Henderson
robert.h@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 10: Julia Nelson
julia.n@newlandsint.school.nz 

Room 11: Asha Ryder
asha.r@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 12: Jen Vaughan
jen.v@newlandsint.school.nz 

Room 13: Annabelle Schmid
annabelle.s@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 14: Louise Moncrieff
louise.m@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 15: Nic Turner
nic.t@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 16: Brooke Sutherland
brooke.s@newlandsint.school.nz

Room 17: Shelley Olliver-Bell
shelley.ob@newlandsint.school.nz

Learning Support Centre: Yolanda Cuccurullo
yolanda.c@newlandsint.school.nz

Release teachers:

Sasha Robinson
sasha.r@newlandsint.school.nz

Lottie Butcher
lottie.b@newlandsint.school.nz 

Amelia Mazur

amelia.m@newlandsint.school.nz

Technology:

Senco: (Special Needs)

Trish Horrobin
trish.h@newlandsint.school.nz

Sports Co-ordinator

Deb Mills
deb.m@newlandsint.school.nz

Teacher Aides / English Language Assistants: 

Fiona Strawbridge

John Cope

Megan Cooper

CiCi Kong

Michele Lawrence

Tonni Wilson

Rajes Kumar

Shannon Lowes

Dani Tyler

Charlotte Galpin

Sarah Caulcutt

Counsellor

Morris Barling
morris.b@newlandsint.school.nz

Executive Assistant

Rama Smith
rama.s@newlandsint.school.nz

Literacy Support:

Berenice Jackson

berenice.j@newlandsint.school.nz

Librarians:

Heather Taylor and Megan Gill

heather.t@newlandsint.school.nz

Caretaker:

Mr Ben Clarke 

 

Board of Trustees

Board Members

Susie Ellis - Board chairperson

Neil Hatfield 

Geoff Charles

Rachel Ikurere

Leonie Vines

Louise Moncrieff - Staff representative

Angela Lowe - Principal

 

OUR BOARD OF TRUSTEES 

We are lucky to have a committed, dynamic board guiding and supporting Newlands Intermediate. We look forward to working with the wider school community to make our school the best we can for our kids.

In June 2019, we welcomed two new board members, Rachel Ikurere and Leonie Vines.

Kia Ora, my name is Rachael. I have 3 children, Eli (11) is in his first year at NIS, Luke (10) and Hannah (8) are both at Newlands Primary School. I am very involved in the local community with Newlands Junior Rugby Club (having served on the committee, managed teams & coached). I am also a committee member for Olympic Athletics Club, plus I serve as a deacon at our church in Johnsonville. My pre-children professional background was in the investment sector and my current role is Finance Manager for Hockly Plumbers. I am passionate about giving children every opportunity to succeed. I believe a big part of that is through relationship. The intermediate years are where children are forming those key relationships and learning how to express themselves through not only their classroom studies but by their interactions with teachers, coaches and their peers.I would like the opportunity to be part of the board that can help our NIS teaching and leadership team feel supported in their important role of teaching our children.
My name is Leonie Vines and I am nominating myself for election for the Board of Trustees for Newlands Intermediate School. I am married and have two children. My eldest son is in year 7 at Newlands Intermediate School. Along with spending a lot of time attending and helping to manage and coach the boys’ various football, cricket, basketball and swimming lessons, I make time for my own interests which are walking and running my small cake business. On top of these I also work full time. With all the sports that keep my children busy, I have built a strong link to the community in which most of the children at Newlands Intermediate live in. It helps me to realise the different backgrounds, cultures and needs of each child. My role at work gives me a strong set of skills to bring to the Board of Trustees. I do a lot of strategizing, governance work, policy writing and reviewing, and I have very good people and communication skills. I am focussed on the here and now to help empower the staff at Newlands Intermediate to allow the current students to make the most of their time at intermediate school but also to help put in place long term goals and policies for future students and families of the Newlands Intermediate school community. I am keen to support the already strong and capable staff at Newlands Intermediate School and support the progress of the children and the environment that they learn in.
 

 

 
Original generation time 0.6875 seconds.
+ Text Size -
Original generation time 1.5895 seconds. Cache Loaded in: 0.0005 seconds.